Beef Carnitas

carnitas

If you know my family, you know that we LOVE Mexican food! We have a pretty steady diet of it actually. My kids gobble it up and so do we. I think part of the reason I enjoy making it for my family is because it is easily adapted into a healthier option. Plus, it is so flavorful! So I stumbled on a recipe that I decided to try. I adapted it a bit but not too much. (You can find the original recipe here) Here is what I do for this awesome recipe….

Beef Carnitas: (Crock-pot Recipe)

2 lbs. flank steak

5-6 mini sweet peppers (red, yellow, orange)

1 large sweet onion

1 Tbsp organic better then bouillon chicken base

2 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. turmeric

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/4 tsp. oregano

1/4 tsp. onion powder

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp.cayenne pepper

1 tsp. Himalayan pink salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

fresh parsley

Directions:

Place Flank steak in bottom of a large crock-pot. Mix together all the spices. Rub all over steak on both sides. Next top with chopped onion and peppers and bouillon. Turn on crockpot on low. Cook for 8-10 hours. The longer the better.

carnitas 3

Here’s a picture of it all in the crock-pot before it is cooked.

Tips:

I like to serve with lettuce wraps or gluten free tortilla shells. Sliced avoacado tossed with a drop of lime vitality oil is sooooo yummy on top. Whatever toppings you’d like are fantastic! I serve ours with rice and salsa as well. This will become a favorite. I promise!

carnitas 4

 

 

Leave a comment