Homeschool Organization for Small Spaces

I recently shared on my Instagram stories some of our favorite things for homeschooling in small spaces. We took on this homeschool gig at the start of the 2020 school year and fell in love with the freedom and time it gave us to be together learning and growing… myself included! I have really fallen in love with teaching my kids in a whole different way and count my blessings that I am able to do it. That’s not to say we don’t have hard days, but hard days come no matter what route you choose.

Anyway, I digress. When we took on this journey I knew we were going to need to get extra creative when it came to storage and space. Our home is extremely small (I have a post all about that here ) so space is super limited. When I started getting things in order I found some things that worked great, and some things not so much. I thought I’d compile what worked great for us here for you so you can have quick links to what we have found to be awesome for our small space!

  • 15 Drawer Organizer – This is a new addition to our homeschool nook this year. I love that it has plenty of storage space, shallow and deep drawers, and that it’s on wheels for easy moving. It was easy to build (ahem this is not my gift, so if I can do it, anyone can) and didn’t take long at all. This is where we store colored pencils, markers, stickers, craft/art supplies, some notebooks, paper and more!
  • Target Dollar Spot – I love this section all the time, but at back to school time it hits deeper. πŸ™‚ They have so many cute and functional options for school rooms. I got the paper holder, and blue organizer from the dollar spot, as well as all of our supplies like pens, pencils, paper, etc.
  • Dollar Store – If you need buckets, baskets, or containers for easy storage, this is the place. We use ours for crayons, math counters and more. Some cute chalkboard labels and a chalk pen and they can be labeled for easy organizing!

  • Ikea Pegboard – I love this for storing things in small spaces. To increase your storage space, hanging things on the wall allows for more space without taking up living space. This particular one is my fave because you can interchange the pieces and customize it for your needs. There are clips, small containers, large containers, file holders, and a lot more options. It’s super easy to hang and makes it super functional to grab things we use on a daily basis. **Note: a cute little sign adds a little life to the wall too. πŸ˜‰ This was made with a Cricut and the polka dots are from Amazon.

These are some of the pegboard accessories I use:

  • Three Tier Storage Cart -This cart is awesome for storing your every day stuff or as another art organizer. We use this for our binders and notebooks, pencil/marker buckets, and things we use every single day. It also has pegs that work great for extra hanging storage, and the top is great for more organization baskets. This is the one we use on top.
  • Foldable Desk– Last year we used lap desks for our every day and they worked well but they weren’t the best quality. This year I decided to go with these foldable style desks and I could not be happier. They are super great quality, extra large work space, and the fold super flat (like a tv tray). They are fantastic for small spaces and would work great for types of desk needs!
  • Teaching from Rest – I could not do a blog post on things that helped us with homeschooling without mentioning this book! I cannot recommend this book enough to new and seasoned homeschool mamas. I read it at the start of our homeschool journey and will continue to read it at the start of every new school year. It’s such an encouragement and puts your heart in the right place as we shepherd this little lives through homeschooling. I am learning all the time and feel I will constantly be a work in progress. I found this book to be so helpful and uplifting and I pray you will too!

We are so happy with our little space. It makes this mama happy when there’s some order to our crazy. πŸ™‚ I hope these links are helpful for your space whether you homeschool or not.

Much love- Heidi

Leave a comment