DIY Nails at Home

Hi, my name is Heidi and I have a toxic trait! I LOVE having cute nails! Yep, I admit it. I have had a hard time giving up getting my nails done. I stopped for a while when I was first diagnosed but ya girl just loves having pretty nails. I was doing my own dip for a long time but they never lasted like the salon nails and they took a loooong time to do. I know they aren’t toxin free, so even though I love them I wanted to find something with a little less chemical exposure, not to mention SO much cheaper!

I stumbled on this glue that you paint on the nail and cure on a UV gel light. I decided to give it a try and… WOAH I was hooked!! The best part is, you can use any press-on nail you like anywhere from cheap amazon ones to a little more high end name brand ones. Whatever your nail loving heart desires!

One of my favorite parts about the glue is that it is very low odor. It’s not toxic free but it is far less chemical exposure than even regular nail polish and way less than going to a salon and breathing in all the dust particles in the air. The only other things you’ll need is a UV light which are pretty inexpensive and your favorite press on nails. I decided the best place to link all these goodies was here so you can come back again and again and find all the links in one place!

Bonus “how to” video at the bottom of this post!

UV Curing Light

To start with this process you’ll need a UV light used to cure gel polish etc. They are reasonably priced and last forever, so it’s only a one time purchase. The picture linked is the one I have but I’ll also share a few other options you can check out! Here are a few other options:

Curing light

Curing light

Curing light

Gel Curing Glue

Alright here’s where the magic happens! This is the curing glue that has worked amazing for me! It is very low odor and comes in a two pack, so you’ll be set for a while. You literally paint it on your nails like a polish and apply the press-on and hold under the UV light for 10-15 seconds. After 10-15 seconds you can let go and cure it the rest of the way for 60-90 seconds.

That’s it…. so simple and mess free!

Press- on Nails

There are literally so many to choose from so this is totally up to your preference! I searched “press-on nails” and so many options came up. I’ve linked that search if you click the highlighted word. I’ll list a few of my faves including the one in the picture. I’ve only had one brand (here) that didn’t adhere as well with the glue (it still worked but they didn’t stay on as long) but everything else I’ve tried has worked great! I like a short, square shape but there is literally something for everyone! I’m sharing a few just so you get the idea but you can find whatever suits your style anywhere!

The ones from my pic. Pink glitter

Extra goodies

In case you needed some files and other accessories I’ve linked a few for you!

Nails files

Cuticle trimmer and pusher

Full clipper set

Buffing block

Check out how I do my nails in the video below!!!!

Leave a comment